Dear Bruce Parry,

For the last couple of weeks your documentary Arctic with Bruce Parry was broadcasted on Dutch television. I thought it was very interesting to see how the indigenous life of people from the arctic has changed as a result of the melting of the ice caps. I especially found the episode of the Inuit in Greenland and their hunt for whales interesting. Also, the episode about the tar sands in Canada was an eye opener. I knew about the process of retrieving oil from tar sands but I couldn’t imagine the magnitude of this environmental damage. My view on over fishing was placed in a different perspective as well by the way.

Everything is connected

In the last episode of your documentary you said that things that happen on the arctic have their effects on the rest of the world. Everything seems to be connected – that message is following me around for the last 8 months. In Mongolia a Dutch couple gave me a book about it. In the Australian Cape Tribulation rainforest a guide told me more about how all plants, trees and animals in the rainforest need one another to survive. In Tasmania another guide explained how the different ecosystems on higher and lower altitudes are connected. And in New Zealand I learned from the Maori culture how people and nature are related. I guess the universe is trying to tell me something…

So it felt like a confirmation when you said how all that happens on the arctic affects the rest of the world. You said it well:

“We have to look at our planet as one”

Anyway, back to your documentary. I like the way you tell the story. Not ‘screaming’ for attention. On the contrary. It’s pure. Showing what it’s like, giving room to the viewer how to interpret it.

On your Twitter profile you describe yourself as an explorer. I like that. I wouldn’t mind being one myself actually. That would be pretty cool. So if you need any help with your next projects, let me know. I would love to contribute to showing people what’s going on in this world. Creating more awareness. Showing the beauty of our planet and how everything is connected.

Looking forward to hear from you.

Kind regards,

Petra

4 thoughts on “Dear Bruce Parry,

  1. Thanks Petra for your kind words
    My next project, a feature film, is all about human nature and our (lost?) connection to the natural world.
    I have a team already but many thanks for the offer of support
    With love
    Bruce

  2. Thank you for your reaction, Bruce. Your next project sounds very interesting!
    Perhaps there will be opportunities to collaborate in the future. In any case, I will be looking forward to your film.
    Petra

Leave a Reply

