The Friday Photo – “A platter of insects, please”

Chinese food in Holland doesn’t even come close to Chinese food in China. No Foe Yong Hai on the menu there.

Instead, you can choose a platter of insects or a dish with certain parts of an animal you don’t really want to know that it’s even possible to eat it. Fortunately, there were also tasty dishes to choose from. My favourites were stir fried fresh veggies and a sort of pancake made of eggs, rolled up and stuffed with vegetables and spices. Of course I also had to try the famous Beijing duck, which was very tasteful.

Did I try the insects? Well, yes, like I’ve said some time ago I always like to try local delicacies. Even though I’m not a big fan of insects – whether they’re alive or not – I wanted to give it a go. And before I knew it I was munching on something crunchy with the flavour of deep frying oil.

4 thoughts on “The Friday Photo – “A platter of insects, please”

Leave a Reply

